Photos from Porvoo

One day we went to Porvoo town to take photos. I had planned my route so that it went to the old railway station and then by the lovely red shorehouses back to the center. It was surprisingly beautiful weather and it was really nice to walk and play a little tourist there. And the photos !

IMG_2785IMG_2792IMG_2799

The first photo is about the Old Town Hall it’s really old and important building. It was built in 1762-1764 by Gotthard Flensborg. It’s Finland’s oldest Town Hall but now it is Porvoo museum where are shown some arts and things from Porvoo’s history.

The second photo is from the riverbank and there is always flowers planted so that the different colours form numbers 1346 and Porvoo’s symbol and 2013 the last number is 2014 next year so it always changes. I think it’s beautiful and clever and everyone can easily remember when Porvoo was founded.

And the third photo is just taken under one of the Porvoos bridges. I think that is the oldest one but there is at least three bridges more which go over the Porvoo river.

IMG_2784

Now I’m heading to the old railway station and there’s a sign which shows that I’m going on right direction.


IMG_2782

 

 

 

On my way there I walked past this store and I noticed that the name of the store means a blue door and I thought : “That it’s so wrong there’s a brown door ?!?” I was pretty confused buuuuut it maybe wasn’t my brightest moments because later I noticed that there’s a blue door behind the brown so there were two doors. You can easily see the blue door from the picture so I guess the name wasn’t that wrong. 😀

IMG_2804IMG_2812

Those photos are from the old railway station. There was a really nice man who was just about to open his store and he invited me in. There were super fine handmade jewels and everything. But the coolest thing was the miniature of the whole railway station. The nice man asked if I want to see when it’s working and I said yes so he put it on and there was lights and one train which moved around. It was awesome 😀

IMG_2830

Moving on now I’m finally heading back and there is a photo from the river you can see the newer bridge. Usually there are lots of different boats but now it’s pretty empty because the winter is coming.

IMG_2826

Here is the famous storehouses. I love that red colour and that those storehouses are still there after all the years. At least one of the storehouses is some kind of museum I think and there is a carpet wash place or something I’m not sure. 😀 But storehouses are lovely and beautiful.

Hope you liked it! (:

One thought on “Photos from Porvoo

Leave a comment